Retired Numbers for Each NFL Team

Following are the players whose jersey numbers have been retired for each of the current NFL teams. If a card is shown for a player, you can click on the image the see all of the player's cards in the Gallery. When I could find them, I chose cards for this page that show the players wearing their numbers.

For the list of retired numbers, I referred to a page on the NFL web site. Apparently that page is not completely correct, however. For example, it shows a few retired numbers for the Atlanta Falcons, but the Falcons web site says that the team does not officially retire jersey numbers.

Arizona Cardinals

The Cardinals franchise has retired five numbers, three of them posthumously. Stan Mauldin, who played for the Chicago Cardinals, died after a game against the Philadelphia Eagles in 1948. J.V. Cain died in training camp in 1979, while the team was in St. Louis. Pat Tillman left the Cardinals in 2002 to serve in the U.S. Army; he was killed in Afghanistan in 2004.

Atlanta Falcons

The Falcons Ring of Honor page says that the organization does not officially retire jersey numbers, but that it is currently not using the numbers below.

Baltimore Ravens

The Ravens franchise, which began in 1996, has not yet retired any numbers.

Buffalo Bills

The Bills have officially retired only Jim Kelly's number, but an article on the team's web site says that the team currently also avoids issuing numbers 15 (Jack Kemp), 32 (O.J. Simpson), 34 (Thurman Thomas), 44 (Elbert Dubenion), 66 (Billy Shaw), 78 (Bruce Smith), and 83 (Andre Reed).

Carolina Panthers

Carolina's first season in the NFL was 1995. The team has retired one number, 51, worn by Sam Mills.

Chicago Bears

The Bears have retired more numbers, 14, than any other NFL team. George McCaskey, the owner of the Bears, has said that Mike Ditka's number is the last one the team will retire.

Cincinnati Bengals

Cleveland Browns

Ernie Davis died of leukemia in 1962, before he had an opportunity to play for the Browns. Don Fleming died in a construction accident seventeen days after Davis.

Dallas Cowboys

The Cowboys, as a matter of policy, do not retire jersey numbers.

Denver Broncos

Detroit Lions

Chuck Hughes died of a heart attack during a game against the Chicago Bears in 1971.

Green Bay Packers

Reggie White is the only player to have his number retired by two NFL teams. The Philadelphia Eagles have also retired his number.

Houston Texans

The Texans have not retired any numbers.

Indianapolis Colts

So far, only Colts players who played in Baltimore have had their numbers retired.

Jacksonville Jaguars

The Jaguars have not retired any numbers.

Kansas City Chiefs

Stone Johnson died from a neck fracture he received in a 1963 preseason game against the Oakland Raiders. Mack Lee Hill died during knee surgery after a game against the Buffalo Bills in 1965.

Miami Dolphins

Minnesota Vikings

Korey Stringer died during training camp with the Vikings in 2001.

New England Patriots

New Orleans Saints

The Saints retired the jersey numbers of Jim Taylor and Doug Atkins, though combined they played only four seasons for the team.

New York Giants

New York Jets

Oakland Raiders

The Raiders have not retired any numbers.

Philadelphia Eagles

Jerome Brown died from injuries in a car accident just before the 1992 season.

Pittsburgh Steelers

The Steelers retired Ernie Stautner's number in 1964. Fifty years later, in 2014, they retired Mean Joe Greene's.

St. Louis Rams

San Diego Chargers

San Francisco 49ers

Seattle Seahawks

Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Tennessee Titans

Washington Redskins